Beginning this week, the social media giant will show a "protecting your information" link at the top of each user's news feed. From there, users will be directed to a section where they can see which apps and websites they have used Facebook to log into, and remove any they no longer want connected to their account. Users may receive a message above the link if their data was compromised by the political data firm Cambridge Analytica.
We have banned the website 'This Is Your Digital Life,' which one of your friends used Facebook to log into. We did this because the website may have misused some of your Facebook information by sharing it with a company called Cambridge Analytica.
Facebook revealed last week that 87 million users were impacted the firm's data breach after it worked on Facebook ads with President Donald Trump's campaign. Monday’s alerts come as Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg prepares to testify before Congress this week.